Topeka students named National Merit Scholarship finalists

Topeka Capital-Journal - 04-22


Five Topeka high-school seniors were named earlier this year as finalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program. Brett Funk from Hayden High School and William Baker, Jacob Berry, Marissa Christensen, Kai Glashausser and Hunter Turner from Washburn Rural High School moved from the preliminary semifinalist list released in September 2018 to being named finalists, making them eligible to possibly receive not only scholarships from the program, but also from the colleges they will attend. They represent the top 1 percent of students in Kansas and are in the top 5 percent nationally.